Littleroot Town – Pokémon Ruby/Sapphire

About game/music

This is “Littleroot Town” from the RPG raising monsters and exploring the world “Pokémon Ruby/Sapphire” (2003 GBA/2014 N3DS), developed by GAME FREAK and published by The Pokémon Company.
This is composed by Go Ichinose.
Pokémon Omega Ruby/Alpha Sapphire versions was arranged by Shota Kageyama.

The GBA version was released after Pokémon Gold/Silver (2000 GBC).
As additions from the previous title, “Ability” and “Double Battle” were introduced for the first time in the series.
In addition, two types of bicycles were introduced in this release: the “Mach,” which can move quickly, and the “Acro,” which can move over stepping stones.

The N3DS version was released after Pokémon X/Y (2013 N3DS).
Mega Evolution was continued from the previous version and was applied to the first three Pokémon. ( only Blaziken was adopted first in the previous title for some reason).
A similar “Primal Reversion” was also introduced for Groudon and Kyogre.

This song is played in the beginning of the Hoenn region, where the player has moved from the Johto region.


bar 3~4, 11~12, 18~19, 22~23

  • iii-III-vi
    • It has a strong relative minor feeling.
    • It evokes a sense of nostalgia.
    • other examples are the following songs.
      • Little Earth (Day)Flying Neko Delivery
      • Littleroot Town – Pokémon Ruby/Sapphire
      • Eterna CityPokémon Diamond/Pearl
      • Azalea Town – Pokémon HeartGold/SoulSilver
      • Professor Kukui’s Theme – Pokémon Sun/Moon
      • Go Quickly!Sonic Runners
      • End Of The SummerSonic Runners

bar 4~5, 12~13

  • line cliché (other TABs include this)
    • The chord is fixed and only a single voice part moves (basically).
    • The smoothness of the movement by semitone and the richness of emotion created by the notes that are not in the main key.
    • It’s typical to start with I or vi in a major key, or i in a minor key.
    • It seems the chord isn’t same all the way through, but a inverted form of some other chord.
      • my Interpretation (example):
        • I-iii/5th-I7/7th-IV/3rd or I-iii/5th-I7/7th-VI or I-V/3rd-v/3rd(iiiø/5th)-VI etc.
        • i-V+/3rd-bIII/5th-IV/3rd
        • I-III+/5th-vi/3rd-I7
    • other examples are the following songs.
      • The Amazon – DuckTales
        • contains both patterns descending from I and from vi
      • Paths That Will Never Cross (Rain) – Fire Emblem : Three Houses
      • Nalao LakeFreedom Planet 2
      • La Follia d’amore – Kirby Star Allies
      • From a Place of LoveLibrary Of Ruina
      • The Reverberation EnsembleLibrary of Ruina
      • Pass OnLimbus Company
      • See You TomorrowOMORI
        • It seems to be I-iii/5th-bVII-vi, so only the first half is a typical pattern.
      • Littleroot Town – Pokémon Ruby/Sapphire
      • Poké Mart – Pokémon Ruby/Sapphire
      • Dewford Town – Pokémon Ruby/Sapphire
      • Route 110 – Pokémon Ruby/Sapphire
      • Route 203Pokémon Diamond/Pearl
      • Azalea Town – Pokémon HeartGold/SoulSilver
      • Battle! (Island Kahuna) – Pokémon Sun/Moon
      • The Battle at the Summit! – Pokémon Sun/Moon
      • Battle! (Hop) – Pokémon Sword/Shield
      • Mountain Travel EastShantae and the Seven Sirens
      • Seaside HillSonic Heroes
      • Go Quickly!Sonic Runners
      • The Concealed Four Seasons – 東方天空璋 ~ Hidden Star in Four Seasons.